Monroe Elected OSA Fellow

October 16, 2020

Christopher Monroe, a Fellow in the Joint Center for Quantum Information and Computer Science (QuICS), has been elected a Fellow of The Optical Society (OSA). He is one of 118 members from 24 countries to be selected to the 2021 cohort of OSA fellows.

Monroe, who is also a Fellow in the Joint Quantum Institute (JQI) and a Distinguished University Professor in the Department of Physics, leads an experimental research group that masterfully manipulates the delicate interactions of light and ions. Their experiments span everything from simulating wormholes to pushing the frontiers of quantum computing.

Monroe also shares his expertise as a member of the advisory committee of the U.S. National Quantum Initiative. He advocated for the creation of the initiative, which works to stimulate development of quantum information science and technology by fostering collaboration between federal organizations, academic institutions and private industry.

No more than 10 percent of OSA members may receive an OSA fellowship. The fellowship is an acknowledgment of accomplishments and contributions within the community of scientists who study light. Monroe was specifically noted for his “pioneering leadership in quantum information processing with trapped ions and ultrafast optics technology, and leadership in the National Quantum Initiative.” 

—Story by Bailey Bedford, JQI science communicator

QuICS is a partnership between the University of Maryland and the National Institute of Standards and Technology. It receives administrative and technical support from the University of Maryland Institute for Advanced Computer Studies.