Events

QuICS hosts a variety of events, including several regular seminar series:

  • QuICS Seminar: The main seminar for all of QuICS, with invited speakers, covering topics of broad interest
  • QuICS Special Seminar: Talks by visiting speakers, organized by research groups within QuICS
  • IQC-QuICS Math-CS Seminar: Seminar and reading group, joint with IQC at the University of Waterloo
  • Friday Quantum Seminar: Seminar organized for/by postdocs and graduate students at the University of Maryland (previously known as the JQI-QuICS-CMTC Seminar)

For event announcements, please subscribe to the quics-announce mailing list.  You may also subscribe to the QuICS Events calendar (also available in iCal format).  Many seminars are also recorded and posted on the QuICS YouTube channel.

Upcoming

Friday Quantum Seminar
Subhayan Sahu (University of Maryland, Physics)
Friday, October 29, 2021 - 12:00pm
ATL 2324 and Virtual Via Zoom: https://umd.zoom.us/j/99484119207
QuICS Seminar
Joseph Emerson (University of Waterloo)
Wednesday, November 3, 2021 - 11:00am
Virtual Via Zoom: To be announced
IQC-QuICS Math-CS Seminar
Gail Letzter (NSA and UMD, College Park)
Thursday, November 4, 2021 - 2:00pm
Virtual Via Zoom: https://umd.zoom.us/j/93192622019
QuICS Seminar
Isaac Chuang (MIT)
Wednesday, November 10, 2021 - 11:00am
Virtual Via Zoom: To be announced
QuICS Seminar
Kristan Temme (IBM)
Wednesday, November 17, 2021 - 11:00am
Virtual Via Zoom: To be announced
QuICS Seminar
Chao-Yang Lu (USTC, Hefei)
Wednesday, December 8, 2021 - 9:00am
Virtual Via Zoom: https://umd.zoom.us/j/93903057026 Meeting ID: 939 0305 7026

Past

QuICS Seminar
Martin Kliesch (University of Düsseldorf)
Wednesday, October 27, 2021 - 11:00am
Virtual Via Zoom: https://umd.zoom.us/j/96652547990
Friday Quantum Seminar
Naren Manjunath (University of Maryland, Physics)
Friday, October 22, 2021 - 12:00pm
ATL 2324 and Virtual Via Zoom: https://umd.zoom.us/j/99484119207
IQC-QuICS Math-CS Seminar
Matthew Graydon (University of Waterloo)
Thursday, October 21, 2021 - 2:00pm
Virtual Via Zoom: https://uwaterloo.zoom.us/j/93025194699?pwd=bjVJZVpIQXJkS1U2aXg2d3Q3QVhBdz09
QuICS Seminar
Matteo Ippoliti (Stanford University)
Wednesday, October 20, 2021 - 11:00am
(In-person) ATL 3100A and Virtual Via Zoom: https://umd.zoom.us/j/2821742741?pwd=SWJSRm1DTGFoYUtVMllVSEo5bzdmdz09
Friday Quantum Seminar
Cinthia Huerta (JQI/Los Alamos National Laboratory)
Friday, October 15, 2021 - 12:00pm
ATL 2324 and Virtual Via Zoom: https://umd.zoom.us/j/99484119207
Dissertation Defense
Eddie Schoute (QuICS)
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 - 1:30pm
ATL 3100A (faculty only) and Virtual via Zoom
Friday Quantum Seminar
Pradeep Niroula (QuICS)
Friday, October 8, 2021 - 12:00pm
ATL 2324 and Virtual Via Zoom: https://umd.zoom.us/j/99484119207
IQC-QuICS Math-CS Seminar
Christoph Hirche (Technische Universität München and National University of Singapore)
Thursday, October 7, 2021 - 10:00am
Virtual Via Zoom
QuICS Seminar
Robert Raussendorf (University of British Columbia)
Wednesday, October 6, 2021 - 10:30am
Virtual Via Zoom: https://umd.zoom.us/j/96079067479 Meeting ID: 960 7906 7479
Friday Quantum Seminar
Jake Bringewatt (QuICS)
Friday, October 1, 2021 - 12:00pm
ATL 2324 and Virtual Via Zoom
QuICS Seminar
Nicolas Delfosse (Microsoft)
Wednesday, September 29, 2021 - 11:00am
Virtual Via Zoom
Friday Quantum Seminar
Wade Hodson (University of Maryland, Physics)
Friday, September 24, 2021 - 12:00pm
ATL2324 and Virtual Via Zoom
Friday Quantum Seminar
Will Morong (JQI)
Friday, September 17, 2021 - 12:00pm
ATL 2324 and Virtual Via Zoom
QuICS Seminar
Toby Cubitt (University College London)
Wednesday, September 15, 2021 - 11:00am
Virtual Via Zoom
IQC-QuICS Math-CS Seminar
Dr. Christopher Sahadev Jackson (Sandia National Laboratories)
Tuesday, September 14, 2021 - 4:00pm
Virtual Via Zoom